Nicosia, known locally as Lefkosia (Greek: ?e???s?a) or Lefkosa (Turkish: Lefkosa), population 200,686 (2001), is the capital of Cyprus. Located on the Pedieos river, Nicosia is the center of an administrative district, and it is currently the only divided capital city in the world, with the northern (Turkish) and southern (Greek) portions divided by the “Green Line”, a demilitarized zone maintained by the United Nations, although unlike Cold War East and West Berlin, few use the terms North Nicosia and South Nicosia. The city is a trade center and manufactures textiles, leather, pottery, plastic, and other products. Copper mines are nearby. Nicosia is the seat of the University of Cyprus (UCY).

Other Areas of Cyprus

Go to HE Global for the very best property investment advise